Memory Exception and Error Handling

One thing I learned from programming is that most of the time you will likely face worse-case scenarios (the famous moore’s murphy’s law reigns supreme!). You also deal with out of domain inputs and out of bound output range. There will be unexpected (mis)behaviour. You put them into consideration while trying to keep the system working as intended. Thus, always create exceptions and error handlers.

The same goes with life, I suppose: things don’t go as planned; you get abused by bad input intakes and give fluctuative performance; sometimes you get lost as well. So write your own exception and error handlers.

However, I’ve been caught up in a loop that has yet to meet its breaking point. I have no idea if it is getting there all right. I seem to allocate memories, fail (refuse) to deallocate them, and may risk a segmentation fault (core dumped). Frankly, the pragmatic side of me thinks that I should avoid memory leaks and having these memories is of no help right now while the philosophising part insists on preserving them for reflection and contemplation purposes.

I am getting impatient. Should I just throw an exception or persevere and see this loop to its end?

I am beginning to feel like a pointer set to null, pointing to nothing, divided by zero, floating pointlessly into infinity…

Leave a Reply

