Screening Diet 2009

Looking back, 2009 isn’t a very exciting year for films for me. So few films I’ve seen in cinemas this year, I could count them with just one hand: “Up”, “Ice Age 3”, “Star Trek, Harry Potter and the Half-blood Prince”, and “Public Enemies”. Conflicting schedules made me miss “The Imaginarium of Doctor Parnassus” –I didn’t even know if it was shown here– and most of films that got shown in cinemas nearby didn’t interest me. 

On Harry Potter and The Half Blood Prince,  I’ve given up that the franchise would ever improve its treatment on characters (especially Ron and the Weasleys) other than Harry, Draco, and Hermione. There had been hope after Goblet of Fire. Even with its massive cut down, the Order of the Phoenix managed to convey better character dynamics. But the Half-blood Prince was back to “Harry the hero and Hermione the heroine continue…” Now it’s obvious that Steve Kloves (the screenwriter of all Harry Potter films except the Order of the Phoenix) is to blame. And since Kloves is also writing the scripts for the last two Harry Potter films, I vow that I am not going to see them.

Some of the films that I’ve seen in DVD in 2009 had been more interesting, among them are “Rory O’Shea Was Here” (Inside I’m Dancing), a French-Canadian “Babine”, Korean films “Private Eye” and “The Good, The Bad and The Weird”, and Japanese film “The Departed”. And in this end of year comes some that  I am looking forward to.

 

eoyfilms

 

The rest of Nodame Cantabile story is coming in two films,  starting on December 19th, and  Guy Ritchie’s “Sherlock Holmes” is screened worldwide on December 18th. The latter intrigues me even more as I love the rather grim source material yet, in the Golden Globes Awards, Robert Downey Jr. got nominated for best actor in musical or comedy for playing Holmes.

Leave a Reply

